STAQ supports excellence in science teaching. Here are some awards that only members may apply for.

  • BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Teacher Awards
    The BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Teacher Awards recognise outstanding contributions made by classroom teachers to science education. Each year STAQ is invited to nominate one teacher, chosen for their excellence in teaching and support for students.
  • Ruth Dircks ASTA Scholarship
    The Ruth Dircks Scholarship is available to assist members to attend CONASTA.
  • STAQ Life Membership
    This is awarded to STAQ members who have significantly contributed to the association over a long period of time. It is awarded at the AGM.


Awards open to all teachers. If you are a member, STAQ may choose to support your application. Please contact us to find out more.

  • ASG National Excellence in Teaching Awards
    Amazing professional development and project grants are available at the National Award level, as well as one lucky teacher getting the incredible opportunity to go to Space Camp in the USA. National Awards are granted across different categories.
  • Australian Academy of Science Teacher Awards
    The Academy sponsors a teacher from each state and territory to attend its annual Science at the Shine Dome conference in Canberra.
  • Best of the West Awards
    Women and Girls in STEM careers in Regional/Rural QLD
  • Eureka Award for Science or Mathematics Teaching
    The $10,000 NSW Trade & Investment Eureka Prize for Science or Mathematics Teaching is awarded to a secondary school science or mathematics teacher who has motivated and inspired students in the field of science or mathematics.
  • QCT Excellence in Teaching Awards 
    These awards are to recognise exceptional teachers across 4 categories reflective of different levels of teaching experience. All teachers registered in Queensland are eligible to be nominated.
  • Peter Doherty Awards
    The Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in Science and Science Education recognise students, teachers, support officers, schools, volunteers and organisations that have made outstanding and innovative contributions to science and science education.
  • Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teaching
    The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are the nation’s finest awards for excellence in science and science teaching.