In 2002, Ruth Dircks was the inaugural winner of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools and was awarded $35,000. Ruth generously donated this money to ASTA to promote the attendance and participation of teachers at CONASTA each year. ASTA named this award the Ruth Dircks ASTA Scholarships to CONASTA in her honour.

Each year up to three teachers are supported to attend CONASTA through this Scholarship. The teachers’ travel, accommodation and registration costs for the conference are funded.

Are you eligible?
Applicants must comply with the following criteria to be adjudged eligible for this award:
1. Reside outside the regional area in which CONASTA is being held that year.
2. Have not attended more than two CONASTA’s previously.
3. Be a financial member of a State or Territory Science Teachers Association.

How to apply
Apply for a Ruth Dircks Scholarship and see what all the CONASTA fuss is about! Applicants must complete an application form (below). Applications now open and close on 6 May 2016.

For further information, please go to

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply